Start time, ball numbers and full coverage of group stage draw

7 min read
Start time, ball numbers and full coverage of group stage draw

The draw for this season’s  FA Women’s Continental Tyres League Cup group stage will take place this Friday and will be live on talkSPORT 2.

Chelsea smashed Bristol City 6-0 to claim cup glory in last season’s final.

Getty Images – Getty

Chelsea won the FA Women’s League Cup last season

The 2021/22 competition will commence in October and feature clubs from the Barclays FA Women’s Super League and FA Women’s Championship

It will be divided into two sections – Northern and Southern – with two groups in the North and three in the South.

One notable absence from Friday’s draw will be the clubs that have qualified for the Women’s Champions League.

Chelsea, Manchester City and Arsenal will not be involved, with Emma Hayes’ side entering at the quarter-final stage.

Arsenal and City’s entry will be determined by their performance in the first two rounds of the Champions League.

If they progress to the group stages and join Chelsea, they too will enter the League Cup at the quarter-final stage. If they are knocked out inside the first two rounds, they will enter the group stage of the cup and will be drawn into an existing group of four clubs.

FA Women’s League Cup draw: talkSPORT coverage

The draw will be live on talkSPORT 2 and on the talkSPORT YouTube channel from 1.15pm.

Faye Carruthers will be the host for the draw and will be joined by a special guest.

To tune in, click the radio player below or HERE for the live stream.

Here are the other ways to listen…

App iPhone – Download from the Apple store

Android – Download from Google Play

Radio – talkSPORT is available across the United Kingdom via DAB digital radio and on 1089 or 1053 AM.

TV – Listen to talkSPORT through your TV on the following channels: Sky: Channel 0108 Virgin Media: Channel 927 Freeview: Channel 723 Freesat: Channel 731

FA Women’s League Cup draw: Ball numbers

Due to Chelsea, Arsenal and City’s involvement in the Champions League, the draw will feature 21 clubs, with nine going into the two groups in the Northern section, and 12 going into three groups in the Southern.

In the Northern Section, the first five numbers out of the bag will be placed in Group A. The last four will be placed in Group B. 

In the Southern Section, the first four numbers will be placed in Group C. The next four numbers drawn will be placed in Group D. The final four bag will be placed in Group E. 

The first place team in each group will qualify for the quarter-finals, joining those clubs competing in the Champions League. If Arsenal or City enter the group stage of the League Cup, the best runner-up / two best runners-up will progress with the five group winners.

The group stages for the League Cup will run from October 13 through to December 16.

The quarter-finals are scheduled for January 19 and 20, the semi-finals will be on February 2 and 3 and this season’s final will be held on Sunday, March 6.

Northern Section Ball Numbers

  • 1. Durham 
  • 2. Liverpool 
  • 3. Blackburn Rovers 
  • 4. Sheffield United 
  • 5. Manchester United 
  • 6. Everton 
  • 7. Sunderland 
  • 8. Leicester City 
  • 9. Aston Villa 

Southern Section Ball Numbers

  • 1. Coventry United 
  • 2. Crystal Palace 
  • 3. London City Lionesses 
  • 4. Watford 
  • 5. Charlton Athletic 
  • 6. Brighton and Hove Albion 
  • 7. West Ham United 
  • 8. Bristol City 
  • 9. Birmingham City 
  • 10. Reading 
  • 11. Tottenham Hotspur 
  • 12. Lewes

Source link

Load More Related Articles
Load More In Sports
Comments are closed.

Check Also

David Alaba and Marko Arnautovic among Austria players to speak to furious fans after defeat to Scotland in World Cup qualifier

Losing to Scotland isn’t that bad, is it? David Alaba and Marko Arnautovic were among the …